Brummie / Cyclops Crossword Blog

Brummie / Cyclops Crossword Blog.

Oct 17, 2012 A cryptic clue from start to bitter end
A question often put to setters is “what makes a good/successful clue?”.
Orlando’s succinct response in a recent Alan Connor ‘Meet the Setter’ blog was “Wit. Concision. Precision.” – and who would argue with that? Certainly not I. So, obviously, it’s those qualities I keep at the forefront of my mind when I come to craft a clue, isn’t it? Er, well, I do try, really I do, but the reality, as in most of life’s endeavours, is very different from the theory. The following sorry tale should give an idea of the (more often than not, I find) shambolic process leading to a finished clue.

Leave a Reply

